If you are issued a traffic ticket in New Jersey or any other state, authorities have until the statute of limitations runs out to file a summons. A statute of limitations is the length of time parties have to begin legal proceedings, but the amount of time will differ based on the offense. Here are the possible variations for the New Jersey traffic ticket statute of limitations and what violations cause them.
30 Day Statute of Limitations for Traffic Offenses
When an individual receives a traffic ticket, the statute of limitations will be 30 days for most traffic violations. A motor vehicle summons must be issued within this time frame, or there will be no authority to convict them. However, more egregious violations will result in longer statute limitations.
90 Day Statute of Limitations for Traffic Offenses
Those who drive while intoxicated, such as having a Blood Alcohol Concentration of at least 0.08 percent, will receive a ticket for driving under the influence. DUIs, which also extend to those driving with a commercial driver’s license, or CDL, will result in a traffic ticket with a statute of limitations for 90 days. Additionally, these rules also extend to those boating while intoxicated.
Another violation that can result in a 90-day statute of limitations is refusing to submit to a breathalyzer test. Due to New Jersey’s implied consent laws, all drivers must agree to a breathalyzer test to ensure they have not been driving while intoxicated. Refusing to the test is considered an admission of guilt, resulting in the 90-day statute. As before, those operating boats are not exempt from this rule.
Some violations with a 90-day limit are for other kinds of reckless endangerment. Driving with a revoked license is one such instance, as it signifies an individual is not legally allowed to operate a vehicle. Further, those who pass by a school bus while its red lights are flashing and its stop sign is extended will receive similar punishments, as their behavior could put school children at risk.
Six Month Statute of Limitations for Traffic Offenses
To operate a vehicle in New Jersey and most other states, drivers are required to have sufficient insurance. If someone drives without insurance, they receive a traffic ticket with a statute of limitations for six months, as well as the possibility of criminal charges.
One Year Statute of Limitations for Traffic Offenses
Individuals who file a false or fictitious driver’s license application will receive a traffic ticket with a statute of limitations for an entire year. As the government issues driver’s licenses to use as personal identification, any false or faulty information can lead to a plethora of issues. This violation also extends to those who obtain a license illegally and who use their fake license while on the road.
Leaving the scene of an accident prematurely is also a traffic offense with a one-year statute of limitation. It is vital for those involved in an automobile accident to remain at the scene, so anyone who attempts to flee out of fear of punishment will be held accountable. Furthermore, the consequences for repeat offenders escalate considerably, so always stay at the scene of a vehicle accident.