NJ Driving While Suspended or Revoked Ticket Lawyer

39:3-40 Driving While Suspended or Revoked

Most Common Mandatory Penalties for 39:3-40:

1st OffenseUpon conviction of a first offense, a fine of $500.00 and a period of drivers license suspension of up to six months.

2nd OffenseUpon conviction of a second offense, a fine of $750.00, imprisonment in the county jail for not more than five days, and a period of drivers license suspension  of up to six months.

3rd OffenseUpon conviction of a third or subsequent offense, a fine of $1,000.00, imprisonment in the county jail for ten days, and a period of drivers license suspension  of up to six months.

 

Most Common Enhancement of 39:3-40 Penalties if the Following Occurred:

Accident Involving Personal Injury:  Upon conviction, the court shall impose a period of imprisonment for not less than 45 days or more than 180 days, if while operating a vehicle you are involved in an accident (even if it was not your fault) resulting in bodily injury to another person.

 

Driving While Suspended when Initially Suspended for Driving an Uninsured Vehicle Under NJSA 39:6B-2:

Upon conviction, the court shall impose an additional $500.00 fine, and shall have your license suspended an additional one to two years and may be imprisoned in the county jail for not more than ninety days.

 

Driving While Suspended when Initially Suspended for a DWI Under NJSA 39:4-50:

If this was your first DWI and first time being caught driving on the revoked list- Upon conviction, the court shall impose an additional $500.00 fine, and shall have your license suspended an additional one to two years and may be imprisoned in the county jail for not less than 10 days or more than 90 days.

If this was your second DWI- You will likely be charged with a 4th Degree Felony Driving While Suspended.  Mandatory 6 months Jail.

If this was your first DWI and second time being caught driving on the revoked list- You will likely be charged with a 4th Degree Felony Driving While Suspended.  Mandatory 6 months Jail.

 

Subsequent NJSA 39:3-40 with a companion motor vehicle moving violation:

If you are convicted of a second or subsequent violation and the second or subsequent offense involved a moving violation, the term of imprisonment for the second or subsequent offense shall be 10 days longer than the term of imprisonment imposed for the previous offense.  A moving violation is any violation for which motor vehicle points are assessed by the Motor Vehicle Commission.

 

Mandatory Motor Vehicle Commission (MVC) Surcharges:

Upon conviction of a 39:3-40 the MVC imposes a $250.00 surcharge for each year for the next three (3) years.

 

A Driving While Suspended or Revoked Ticket is a common ticket issued by the New Jersey police. This statute provides the penalties for when you are charged with Driving While Suspended or Revoked. As you can see the penalties can be very severe. There are many defenses in NJ Court to a Driving While Suspended or Revoked. Just because you given a Driving While Suspended or Revoked Ticket doesn’t mean you are guilty.

If you have been charged with a Driving While Suspended or Revoked in NJ it is important that you hire an experienced New Jersey lawyer to represent you in court who will leave no stone unturned. Because you do not appear in court every day, and we do, you may not be aware of the many defenses, objections and challenges that are available to defend your Driving While Suspended or Revoked Ticket charge. Anyone can simply plead guilty and get the points. Don’t give up your rights!

At Shugar Law we know a lot is on the line with your NJ Driving While Suspended or Revoked Ticket. Jail, Points, high fines, license suspension and surcharges are just the beginning. Not to mention an increase in your personal insurance rates! Don’t you deserve and owe it to yourself to do whatever it takes to avoid the Driving While Suspended or Revoked Ticket Charge in New Jersey! Call us for a free consultation at 1-888-966-8484.

Aggressive Driving While Suspended or Revoked Ticket Defense in New Jersey

We do whatever it takes to get you the best possible result for your Driving While Suspended or Revoked Ticket in NJ Court. We explore every possible avenue for a successful defense. Whether it is a complete dismissal, downgraded charge, or trial on the merits of your case we guarantee we won’t stop until you tell us to stop.

*Many times we can file motions and/or have the Judge sign an Order to exclude documents from your case.
*Many times we can argue lack of notice of the suspension.
*Many times we can argue case law to dismiss your ticket charge.

Call us Now for Help with Your New Jersey Driving While Suspended or Revoked Ticket

I’m sure you have questions and we are here to help answer them. Take advantage of our Free Consultation. 1-888-966-8484